upgrade to VS 2019 : retarget a whole history of changes ?

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
binbinhfr

upgrade to VS 2019 : retarget a whole history of changes ?

Post by binbinhfr » May 13th, 2019, 11:03 pm

Hi,

I'm new to VS C++ and to this forum and installed VS2019 to study all this shiiiiiiiit (I try to speak the chili's way... ;-) ).
Each time I clone a chili repo and open a solution, I have to retarget to the latest SDK (10.x) and latest platform (v142). I then commit this little change, and only then I can build the product.

But the past timeline/history is still in outdated.
So if I want to go back in the timeline and branch in the past to follow chili's progression in the tutorial, I have to repeat the same retargeting sequence everytime, which is tedious.

I wonder if there is a way to retarget from the beginning of the commits history, and not only at the end ?

I can see different solutions but I don't know if they are doable :
- insert a retargeting commit at the beginning of the history ? Is it possible ?
- moving the retargeting commit that I made, from the end to the beginning of the commits history ?
- manage to edit the project file that is stored in the first commit of the history ? But will it then impact all other commits ?

I am sure that some experts around here have a solution for that "upgrade" case that must appear on your repos everytime Windows SDK goes 1 version up.... ;-)

albinopapa

Re: upgrade to VS 2019 : retarget a whole history of changes ?

Post by albinopapa » May 14th, 2019, 2:40 am

Because I don't think you can propagate a change from an earlier commit through later commits...kind of defeats the purpose of source control if you ask me, but I could be wrong, here's what I would do:

Create a branch at the earliest commit I was wanting to checkout, setup how you want ( SDK, language version, etc... ), then branch off from that one whenever you want to start something new.