Baby Coder In Need Of Help

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
Noah Muk

Baby Coder In Need Of Help

Post by Noah Muk » February 14th, 2019, 8:34 pm

Help I am a new coder and I am on tutorial 13 Beginner C++ Game Programing and I keep getting this error at the end at the end of the lesson.

Program: ...uksy\Desktop\Chili Framework
2016\Debug\Engine.exe
File:c:\users\muksy\desktop\chili framework 2...\graphics.cpp
Line 315

Expression: y < int(Graphics::SereenHeight )

I might just be skipping something simple over but i if anyone could help it would be very much appreciated. :)

albinopapa

Re: Baby Coder In Need Of Help

Post by albinopapa » February 15th, 2019, 4:56 am

The devil is in the details as they say, the line: Expression: y < int(Graphics::SereenHeight ) gives you a clue where the problem lies...mostly.

When you use assert ( in this case chili has used: assert( y < int( Graphics::ScreenHeight ) ) you are saying "I assert that this is expression is true" and in your case, the assertion that y is less than Graphics::ScreenHeight ( probably 600 ) is false.

Did your program try drawing something off the bottom of the screen?
Did you forget to initialize a variable somewhere?

You can use the Call Stack window after the assertion break to look at values of variables from previous functions ( usually ) by double clicking on the function name within the Call Stack window.

Check the Game::ComposeFrame function after the assertion break then if all looks correct, follow the code down through each function.

If you still cannot find your error, upload a copy of your project and someone can run it and take a look to see where the issue is.
If you think paging some data from disk into RAM is slow, try paging it into a simian cerebrum over a pair of optical nerves. - gameprogrammingpatterns.com

Noah Muk

Post by Noah Muk » February 18th, 2019, 7:49 pm