Are the old tutorials chili approved?

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
CookingMama

Are the old tutorials chili approved?

Post by CookingMama » January 27th, 2019, 6:00 pm

I'm impatient and was checking out the old tutorials on direct3d and wanted to know if they still hold up.

From what I've seen so far they are focused on Direct3D9 (and they're also super long), so is that whole scene still supported by Microsoft or would picking it up be a waste of time?

Also comparing the old tutorials to the new ones it's obvious a lot has changed, more specifically the reliance on the c std library over the c++ lib. As a C programmer I don't mind but I imagine many other things have changed as well.

So are the old tutorials still a good resource before god himself strikes us down with his direct3D11 knowledge?

albinopapa

Re: Are the old tutorials chili approved?

Post by albinopapa » January 27th, 2019, 8:11 pm

The old tutorials never made it to D3D.

The tutorials are still useful if you plan on learning programming in general, some C++ and some linear algebra ( matrix, vector stuff ), 2D box collision, alpha blending, bit twiddling, line clipping, circle/line collision ( HUGS series ) and so forth. Probably the most notable IMO of the old intermediate series was the finite state machine during his platformer tuts, which sadly were never finished. The old advanced series covered the math stuffs.

Basically, everything covered in the old series has now been refreshed in the new series ( Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced ) with the exception of finite state machines from what I can recall. Plus, the refreshed series has the 3D Fundamentals arc and his current Hardware 3D arc is going more in depth into the Win32 API than he ever did in the old series.

If you have completed the refresh of the beginner, intermediate and advanced series, you probably aren't going to pick up anything new from the old series.