Else if statement

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
Jeroen

Else if statement

Post by Jeroen » July 13th, 2018, 11:15 pm

Hi this is my first time posting on here so I hope it al works.

I was watching the beginner tutorial series for c++ and the "if" statement was being explained. The "else if" statement was also being used. Now I know how it works and what is does but I don't see the point in using a else if statement. Can't you just use a seperate if statement.

example:

instead of doing
if()
{}
else if()
{}

just doing
if()
{}
if()
{}

MrGodin

Re: Else if statement

Post by MrGodin » July 14th, 2018, 5:32 am

Curiosity killed the cat, satisfaction brought him back

albinopapa

Post by albinopapa » July 14th, 2018, 5:33 am

Code: Select all

#include <iostream>

int main( int ArgC, char ArgV[] )
{
    int a = 1;
    if( a == 1 )
    {
        a = 3
    }
    else if( a == 3 )
    {
        a = 5;
    }
    else 
    {
        a = 1;
    }

std::cout << a << "\n";

if( a == 1 ) 
    {
        a = 3;
    }
    if( a == 3 )
    {
        a = 5;
    }

std::cout << a << "\n"
    std::cin.get();
}
Run this and see if you can figure out what the difference is.
If you think paging some data from disk into RAM is slow, try paging it into a simian cerebrum over a pair of optical nerves. - gameprogrammingpatterns.com

albinopapa

Post by albinopapa » July 14th, 2018, 5:35 am

@MrGodin, great find.
If you think paging some data from disk into RAM is slow, try paging it into a simian cerebrum over a pair of optical nerves. - gameprogrammingpatterns.com

MrGodin

Post by MrGodin » July 14th, 2018, 9:02 pm

@albinopapa, explains it better than i can lol :)
Curiosity killed the cat, satisfaction brought him back

albinopapa

Post by albinopapa » July 15th, 2018, 5:23 am