Teaching Kids Programming

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
nickseb

Teaching Kids Programming

Post by nickseb » July 13th, 2013, 8:51 pm

Hi Chili

I've seen that in the US there are now a lot of Programming summer camps that kids can go to which is pretty cool. I have an 11 year old little cousin who's in love with games and he says he wants to get into programming.
So as I live in South Africa and summer camps don't really exist (never mind programming ones), I decided to scoure Youtube and see if I could teach him some stuff using awesome people like you to help me along.

I studied Maths and Stats at Uni, and didn't do any programming, so I'm kinda teaching myself and then seeing how best I can teach my cousin. We've started on the first few Lessons of Beginner C++ DirectX Game Programming Tutorial and its going well

I wanted to ask you or anyone on the forum, for tools and ideas to make teaching Kids programming more fun and more successful. Kinda like some of the tools that the summer camps might use. Are their tutorials and their games just bigger and more colourful!? How do you suck younger kids into Programming differently from, older teenagers and adults.

thank you so much for this resource.

nG Inverse

Re: Teaching Kids Programming

Post by nG Inverse » July 14th, 2013, 12:27 am

This is actually a really interesting subject!

Note that programming is a very unique thing. Those who seem to be introverts, well disciplined in math, logical thinkers, and grasped to the concept of how things work tend to be more willing to stick to the whole idea of programming. I started relatively early (at least what I consider early) myself around the age of 13.