A thought

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
MrGodin

A thought

Post by MrGodin » December 15th, 2017, 1:52 am

I was wondering about Chilis' framework and i had a thought, imagine that ! lol. anyways i thought about the putpixel calls and got to thinking, i do that now and again ;) , but ... what i was thinking is say you load a sprite and get its color values ect. Now ... hmmm can all that data in the sprite colors get moved into the pixel buffer all at once,... like a std::move and just move the memory of the sprite into the pixel buffer (or back buffer ect) .. is this at all possible. I have little knowledge of memcopy, std::move and all that. I understand there are strides ect to account for and all that .. anyways just a thought.
Peace Out
Curiosity killed the cat, satisfaction brought him back

chili
Site Admin

Re: A thought

Post by chili » December 15th, 2017, 4:30 am

Nah, move semantics don't really work like that. More for resource transfer stuff, and this is clearly a data (value) copy scenario.

Good news, I've got a video coming (I20) that is going to go over move semantics, rvalue references, std::move, etc.
Chili

albinopapa

Post by albinopapa » December 15th, 2017, 5:35 am

The problem would become you'd only be able to move it once, after that the original data is permanently on the system/back buffer, unless you could somehow move it, render it, then move it back to the correct sprites. The next issue would be what would you do for overlapping sprites?, you'd lose that information to be able to move it back.
If you think paging some data from disk into RAM is slow, try paging it into a simian cerebrum over a pair of optical nerves. - gameprogrammingpatterns.com

chili
Site Admin

Post by chili » December 15th, 2017, 5:45 am