Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Everything




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Fuly polished game
 Post Posted: October 29th, 2017, 6:05 pm 
 

Joined: December 5th, 2014, 9:34 am
Posts: 41
well, in "Update [Moving] 2017/06/16" video chili asked why people just submit there work without polishing.
in response to that, i polished my biggest demo of them all so that i can advance in it's development without leaving anything behind.

i said before i would add AI to it but, i'm not a savage :lol: , polishing comes first.

hope this one gets to the update videos too :mrgreen:

info and statistics:
it took me 10 months and 2 days to complete the game as it is
Development time: 126 hours and 24 mins
my knowledge was (and still) based on the old series + hugs
Code: https://github.com/xEyad/Chess
known issues:
king may(can) do moves he shouldn't (like moving to a threatened tile)
Running the game in debug mode won't make it playable (very very very slow)

attached text file is just a log file i created to while developing the game to monitor it's progress and time spent on it, i just uploaded it for the sake of completion


Attachments:
Development Log.txt [8.27 KiB]
Downloaded 8 times
Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Fuly polished game
 Post Posted: October 29th, 2017, 7:11 pm 
User avatar

Joined: December 15th, 2012, 2:18 pm
Posts: 22
Hey! I really appreciate someone who did this, because of my failed attempts. :D

Please remove:
backgroundSprite(new Surface(Surface::FromFile(L"D:\\workshop\\Chess\\Engine\\Resources\\images\\startMenu.jpg")), Vec2I( 0,0 ))

from every Surface loading you have! :D

How do you detect winning condition?
When I try to attack king as white with
1 d3 - c6
2 Qd2 - h6
3 Qa5 - h5
4 Qd8+ - Kd8
the king does'nt move (just the queen dissapears)

also when I tried and took all black pieces, black king could sometimes go in the 'check' position.

You might wanna look into that :)

Anyways, nice job, keep up! Looking forward to see the fixes and maybe AI sometime - have you read/heard of minimax (alpha beta pruning) or similar algorithms?

Edit: Also sometimes you can see possible moves when there should'nt be like in the picture:


Attachments:
chess.PNG [316.61 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Fuly polished game
 Post Posted: October 29th, 2017, 7:50 pm 
 

Joined: December 5th, 2014, 9:34 am
Posts: 41
first of all i really appericiate that you tried it out and even more, you pointed out some bugs, thanks for that dude.
Chrajdal wrote:
Please remove:
backgroundSprite(new Surface(Surface::FromFile(L"D:\\workshop\\Chess\\Engine\\Resources\\images\\startMenu.jpg")), Vec2I( 0,0 ))

from every Surface loading you have! :D

you can't imagine how much i would like to do this, and also how many times i tried to. for some reason
the std::wstring is fucked up, it always give me this <error couldn't read characters> when i try to pass the location as variable to this function "Surface::FromFile()"

Chrajdal wrote:
How do you detect winning condition?
When I try to attack king as white with
1 d3 - c6
2 Qd2 - h6
3 Qa5 - h5
4 Qd8+ - Kd8
the king does'nt move (just the queen dissapears)

the king freezes cause he is terrified :lol: . seriously tho, i don't check for winning. in a typical game it should ends when it's the losing player turn and he can't move (cause there isn't any available moves) . that being said, you reminded me that i don't actually check for this case and show a winner screen. so thanks i will add it to the "to do list"

Chrajdal wrote:
also when I tried and took all black pieces, black king could sometimes go in the 'check' position.

You might wanna look into that :)


funny thing is, whenever i fix something, tons of other bugs appear :lol: . i will look into it

if by minMax you mean AI algorithm, then yea chili told me about it, but i didn't actually get to read it -yet-


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Fuly polished game
 Post Posted: October 29th, 2017, 8:02 pm 
User avatar

Joined: December 15th, 2012, 2:18 pm
Posts: 22
I just want you to remove this part: "D:\\workshop\\Chess\\Engine\\"
So this:
Code:
backgroundSprite(new Surface(Surface::FromFile(L"D:\\workshop\\Chess\\Engine\\Resources\\images\\startMenu.jpg")), Vec2I( 0,0 ));

becomes this:
Code:
backgroundSprite(new Surface(Surface::FromFile(L"Resources\\images\\startMenu.jpg")), Vec2I( 0,0 ));


Quote:
the king freezes cause he is terrified :lol: . seriously tho, i don't check for winning. in a typical game it should ends when it's the losing player turn and he can't move (cause there isn't any available moves) . that being said, you reminded me that i don't actually check for this case and show a winner screen. so thanks i will add it to the "to do list"

I actually haven't been able to see winner screen yet :D ... and i tried like 5 times, then I just gave up.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Board index » Everything


 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron