Noob learns to code in 3 months

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
Yumtard

Noob learns to code in 3 months

Post by Yumtard » January 26th, 2017, 2:46 am

Hey guys!

First of all, if this forum is not intended to be used this way please feel free to delete this thread :)

About me
26 years old. Plays poker for a living, enjoys bjj, mma and skateboarding

Why A journal?
I just started programming, well, I've done some superbasic shit before like helloWorld() etc but nothing with games.
I need to improve as much as I can fairly fast.
In 3.5 months I'm supposed to show some game projects in order to try and get accepted to a school for game programming.
I thought it would be a good idea to make a thread where I can post progress, what I've been working on in order to improve and maybe get some feedback.

Why programming?
I've found programming intriguing for a long time but never felt like I had the time to get balls deep in it.
I've been saying stuff like "when I'm no longer playing poker I'm gonna learn programming". Well, for a while now I've been wanting to step away from poker and get an education, recently I found out that my gf is pregnant which made me decide that now is the time.

Goals
I want to get to a level where I understand and am able to apply all the concepts taught in tutorial 14 (snek game) and make games of similar complexity on my own.
And I want to have something not too retarded to show in 3.5 months

Today
Watched the tutorials for the snek game and went into monkey see monkey do mode. Tons of stuff I didn't understand.
Afterwards I decided that rather than moving on to the next thing, best thing is probably to try and add stuff to the snek game, this way I get to mess around with the code and eventually some stuff might start making more sense.
First task was to add the obstacles.