XP directX

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
Post Reply
JerryTheBig
Posts: 33
Joined: July 27th, 2012, 12:48 pm

XP directX

Post by JerryTheBig » October 20th, 2012, 9:32 pm

Hi there,
i have another problem. I have installed DirectXSDK on XP. When i start debuging chillis project like scratchy, it crash oin the middle of D3Dgraphic. Does anybody have the same problem, or did anybody solve it?
Thanks

JerryTheBig
Posts: 33
Joined: July 27th, 2012, 12:48 pm

Re: XP directX

Post by JerryTheBig » October 21st, 2012, 9:32 am

OK, there is the error message. It should help. Maybe.
Attachments
XP.png
(86.77 KiB) Downloaded 96 times

User avatar
LuX
Posts: 1492
Joined: April 22nd, 2012, 12:33 pm
Location: Finland

Re: XP directX

Post by LuX » October 21st, 2012, 10:41 am

Probably means there is no proper DirectX installed on the computer.

But there might be something else too like that the version doesn't support some of the functions, so to be more accurate you would have to put a hresult on the CreateDevice and GetBackBuffer and see what is causing the error. Maybe even check on the Direct3DCreate9 != NULL to see if any version of DirectX 9 has been found.

Pretty much like the asserts chili has made, but instead just make a normal if statement and make a popup window appear with the result code then check online what it means. But this is probably a bit complicated.
ʕ •ᴥ•ʔ

User avatar
Asimov
Posts: 814
Joined: May 19th, 2012, 11:38 pm

Re: XP directX

Post by Asimov » October 21st, 2012, 10:08 pm

Hi all,

Well I had this same error when I tried to get the Chilli framework working on my netbook. I had everything installed, even directx9, but I couldn't get it to work.

Weird or what.
----> Asimov
"You know no matter how much I think I have learnt. I always end up hitting brick walls"
http://www.asimoventerprises.co.uk

User avatar
chili
Site Admin
Posts: 3948
Joined: December 31st, 2011, 4:53 pm
Location: Japan
Contact:

Re: XP directX

Post by chili » October 24th, 2012, 2:39 pm

See the part that says:

D3DCREATE_HARDWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING | D3DCREATE_BLAH_JIZZ

Make it say:

D3DCREATE_SOFTWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING
Chili

Post Reply