How much of what we're learning...

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
Hydrasin

How much of what we're learning...

Post by Hydrasin » June 21st, 2012, 11:44 pm

Hey Chili, I was just watching tutorial 20 and found myself once again stifling a reoccurring thought... How much of what you are teaching us is rebuilding the hammer? I would think that there are already functions/methods/whatever that are capable of drawing bitmaps and accomplishing other simple tasks that you have covered thus far...

I know that in the case of Tutorial 20 you mentioned that you made it as a result of the constant pleas for bitmap drawing and what not, but in an earlier lesson you broke down strings right to the bone when I'm pretty sure there's already a whole library dedicated to string manipulation. I'm just wondering (Emphasis on wondering, I don't know because I'm a noob) if its as necessary to go as deeply into some subjects as you do.

Like in the example of the bitmap. Is there a function already out there that we could plug in to our program so that we could just select a bitmap to upload instead of rebuilding a bitmap loader from scratch? I'm not trying to be lazy, but im just wondering if its necessary to learn how to build a tool from scratch before it can be used?

npissoawsome

Re: How much of what we're learning...

Post by npissoawsome » June 22nd, 2012, 2:24 am

everything he's taught us already has functions to do it. He teaches us how to do it ourselves, which teaches us more... But because of this, I'm probably going to learn most of my DX somewhere else, I do still enjoy watching his tutorials, and I learn a lot from them. But I would still like some straight forward DirectX

LuX

Post by LuX » June 22nd, 2012, 10:14 am