Thank you Chili

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
Nullbang

Thank you Chili

Post by Nullbang » May 28th, 2012, 10:45 am

Thank you Chili for making these tutorials. It isn't easy to find tutorials out there that are this comprehensive and explains that many details.

I just finished watching lesson 20. When I first started out watching these videos i thought that loading bitmaps was going to be one of the very first things that were to be taught, but I like it that you have taken the time to explain all the necessary details that come before something like loading a bitmap. I also thought that you were going to import a 3rd party bitmap loader to the project, but no you decided to do that on your own, and I like it.

My background is Java and a bit of C# and my experience with C++ is that it is rather difficult, especially Win32 which seems almost oldfashioned to me. Do you feel the same way? Java and C# were relatively easy to learn but I have come to realize that they wont work in the long run if you want to make games.

My goal is to eventually know how to write a game engine in C++ and you are making that goal come closer with each lesson.

Looking forward to the next lesson. Once again thank you.

/Nullbang

ghilllie

Re: Thank you Chili

Post by ghilllie » May 28th, 2012, 11:55 am

well-said Chili ++ tutorial dominates around youtube world.... Oh yeah!!!!!
Chili++ for President :)

chili
Site Admin

Re: Thank you Chili

Post by chili » May 28th, 2012, 12:34 pm

Hey bro, welcome aboard and thanks for the hearty approbation. ;)
Nullbang wrote:I also thought that you were going to import a 3rd party bitmap loader to the project, but no you decided to do that on your own, and I like it.
I'm glad to hear that. Of course the smart thing and the correct thing to do would be to use a library that is robust and ready-made for you. However, this is a learning experience so I decided that we'd do it the old fashioned way. :lol: