OpenGL vs DirectX

The Partridge Family were neither partridges nor a family. Discuss.
FeelGood

OpenGL vs DirectX

Post by FeelGood » May 22nd, 2012, 5:16 am

Hey Chili I really love your DirectX videos, I'm on lesson 9 and I've learned quite a bit now I studied your framework etc and from reading all the code I can see how everything works pretty much. Anyways besides that onto the main point of this thread.

I know directX is better on lower end CPUs/Graphics cards, but now days thats not so much an issue as even a 40 dollar gfx card can handle OpenGL. DirectX is kind of being phased out, it's going to be dead tech soon so the only reason I'm learning it is because it's available in your tutorials and you're great at explaining. I was wondering if and when you're going to do OpenGL videos?

LuX

Re: OpenGL vs DirectX

Post by LuX » May 22nd, 2012, 7:07 am

Has already been discussed here.
ʕ •ᴥ•ʔ

FeelGood

Post by FeelGood » May 22nd, 2012, 7:21 am

LuX wrote:Has already been discussed here.
Thanks for directing me to that thread, props.

chili
Site Admin

Post by chili » May 22nd, 2012, 3:07 pm

FeelGood wrote:DirectX is kind of being phased out, it's going to be dead tech soon so the only reason I'm learning it is because it's available in your tutorials and you're great at explaining. I was wondering if and when you're going to do OpenGL videos?
If fear you may have been mislead. :lol:

What has caused you to come to such a conclusion I wonder. Have any links bro? ;)
Chili

FeelGood

Post by FeelGood » May 24th, 2012, 1:04 am

chili wrote: If fear you may have been mislead. :lol:
What has caused you to come to such a conclusion I wonder. Have any links bro? ;)